Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Style 42 & Krafty Rue

Home | Style 42's Jewelry, Primitive Crafts and Spa Goodies | A Bit About Me | Favorite English Teaching, Writing & Literature Links | Contact Me | My Resume | Handouts | Resources | Internet Resources
Social Studies and History

Social Studies and History

        

          Biographies

Criminology  (Also see Legal & Justice Related)

            History

                        American History, General

American Revolution

Civil War

                        World War I

World War II

                                    Holocaust

            Religious

       

      GENERAL

         History Channel Encyclopedia http://www.thehistorychannel.co.uk/site/encyclopedia/encyclopedia_main_page.php

         Index of Native American Resources on the Internet http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/

         Maps http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Maps.shtml

 

      Biographies

         ABCNEWS.com : Newsmaker Bios http://abcnews.go.com/reference/newsmakers/newsmakers_index.html

         African American Biographical Database http://aabd.chadwyck.com/

         Biography http://www.biography.com
Biography-center indexes http://www.biography-center.com

         Lives, the Biography Resource http://amillionlives.com

         Mr. Showbiz: Celebrities http://mrshowbiz.go.com/celebrities/index.html

         People http://www.infoplease.com/people.html

         Women's biographies: Distinguished Women of Past and Present http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/

 

      Criminology

         American Society of Criminology http://www.asc41.com/

         CrimeTheory.com http://www.crimetheory.com/gallery.htm

         Restorative Justice Online http://www.restorativejustice.org/resources/world/nothamcar/juvenile

         Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/criminal-law/

 

      History

         BBC History http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/

         Digital History – University of Houston http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/

         Early American History http://www.earlyamerica.com/

         ehistory.com – Ohio State University http://ehistory.osu.edu/

         Historical Newspapers http://historynews.chadwyck.com/

         History Channel, The http://www.history.com/

         HistoryNet.com http://www.historynet.com/

         HyperHistory.com http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html

         Kentucky Historical Society http://history.ky.gov/

         Medieval Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook1.html

         PBS History Programs http://www.pbs.org/history/

         Tennessee Historical Society  http://www.tennesseehistory.org/

         This Day in History http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history.do

 

         American History, General

        American Government and Politics http://www.thisnation.com/

        American Presidents: Life Portraits (CSPAN) http://www.americanpresidents.org/

        American Presidents Resource (U of Va) http://millercenter.org/academic/americanpresident

        Presidents of the USA (White House) http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/

        US Department of State US Information - Publications http://usinfo.state.gov/products/pubs/

 

         American Revolution

                                http://www.history.org/

 

         Civil War

                                http://www.civilwar.com/

                                http://www.civil-war.net/

        Civil War Sites http://www.civilwarsites.com/

        Civil War Preservation Trust http://www.civilwar.org/historyclassroom/hc_glossary.htm

        History Central http://www.historycentral.com/CivilWar/index.html

        Ken Burns on PBS http://www.pbs.org/civilwar/war/map1.html

        National Parks Conservation Association http://www.npca.org/cultural_diversity/battlefields/

                                http://www.us-civilwar.com/

        National Park Service http://www.nps.gov/history/history/categrs/mili2/civil_war_paper.htm

 

         World War I

 

         World War II

 

        Holocaust

o       Danish Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies http://www.holocaust-education.dk/

o       Holocaust Education Center http://holocausteducationctr.org/teacher.htm

o       Holocaust Education Centre of Toronto http://www.holocausteducationweek.com/

o       Holocaust Museum Houston http://www.hmh.org/

o       Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority http://www.yadvashem.org/

o       US Holocaust Memorial Museum http://www.ushmm.org/

 

      Religious

         Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project http://www.al-islam.org/

         Anti-Defamation League http://www.adl.org/

         BBC Religion and Ethics http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/

         Judaism and Jewish Resources http://www.shamash.org/trb/judaism.html

         Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance http://www.religioustolerance.org/aboutus.htm

         Overview of various religions http://www.beliefnet.com/